Day 2 in Rome – Vatican Museum, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain

Day 2 – Breakfast > Vatican Museum > quick lunch at Vatican Museum > walk around Vatican > sight seeing around Spagna > Trevi Fountain > Dinner at Spagna

I was trying to adapt to the Italian lifestyle by having a classic Italian breakfast before heading to Vatican. The type of cafe that you need to be standing at the bar while having a coffee with a pastry. It was fun to do it once in a while though I would much prefer to sit down and have a full english breakfast, but no complaints, the breakfast was free with the accommodation.

2014-10-16 09.13.02
crossiant (cornetti) & cappuccino

I got my Roma pass from the nearby newspaper stand. It is recommended to buy the pass if you are going to visit the more expensive sites such as the Colosseum and the Capitoline Museum. It also helps to skip the queue at the former. The pass costs €36 including unlimited use of public transport and free entry to the first 2 museum/historical sites.

After getting the pass, I took metro A (red line) and got off at Ottaviano “San Pietro”. You can also get to Vatican Museum by getting off at Cipro “Musei Vaticani”. Both stations are around 10mins walk from the Museum.

Rome Metro

Someone promoting the Roma football team?
Some girls promoting the Roma football team. I was hoping to spot Totti somewhere

2014-10-16 10.20.01

IMG_5773

I bought my admission ticket (€16) with the audio guide (€7) online to avoid the long queue. There will be an extra €4 charged for the online ticket though I think this is definitely worth it as you can skip the queue. The only other options would be to turn up early, or to join a tour. For the online ticket you just need to bring the printout of your ticket and show up at the time slot you selected. To reserve your admission ticket to Vatican Museum, please go to http://biglietteriamusei.vatican.va/musei/tickets/do

Vatican Museum is massive and you won’t be able to see everything in one day. The Sistine Chapel is probably the most well known area inside the museum, and definitely a must visit. Other than that, my guide book suggested to visit the Pinacoteca, the Museo Pio-Clementine, Galleria della Carte Geografiche (Map Gallery), and the Stanze di Raffaello (Raphael Rooms). A pair of comfortable sneakers is essential for the visit.

The major collections will be found after passing the beautiful Cortile della Pigna. Click here for the museum map.

Fontana Della Pigna
Fontana Della Pigna

2014-10-16 10.59.36

I was amazed by all the ceiling frescoes and all the details around the building even though I am not a big fan of art.

IMG_5791

IMG_5796

IMG_5797

IMG_5811

This is one of the highlight of the Vatican Museum – Raphael Rooms. Stanza di Costantino is the first of the four rooms.

The first room of the Raphael Rooms

IMG_5814
Stanza di Costantino

The next room is Stanza d’Eliodoro. It is decorated with frescoes illustrating God’s protection of the church.

IMG_5822

Then you will get to Stanza della Segnatura where you will find Raphael’s most famous frescoes.

IMG_5825

Finally the last room – Stanza dell’Incendio di Borgo.

IMG_5829

I grabbed a quick lunch (sandwich & salad combo) at the cafe after Raphael Rooms. The price is quite reasonable and you will need some food after the long walk. Sistine Chapel is located 2 sections after the Raphael Rooms. Thousands of tourists come to see Michelangelo’s most famous ceiling frescoes and the last judgement. It is not allow to take photos inside but there are many tourists trying to take some sneaky shots when the staff are not aware.

IMG_5834

After seeing the Sistine Chapel, the other art pieces seem to be not as impressive. I bought some postcards and sent them out before leaving the museum, as postcards sent from within the Vatican have their own postage stamps. The spiral staircase at the exit gives a perfect ending to the museum visit.

IMG_5845

Vatican Museum

Opening Hours: Mon to Sat – 09:00 to 18:00 (ticket office closed at 16:00)

http://mv.vatican.va/3_EN/pages/z-Info/MV_Info_Orari.html

I was planning to visit St Peter’s Basilica after but changed my mind after seeing the long queue. I would be visiting again once my human google maps boyfriend arrived.

2014-10-16 15.13.57

I ended up having my gelato instead. Old bridge is one of the most popular ice cream parlours in Vatican and also has a high rating on yelp.

2014-10-16 15.44.28

Nothing gets better than having my Hazelnut & Pistachio gelato to cool me down under the Italian sun.

2014-10-16 15.50.40

Old Bridge

Address: Viale Bastioni di Michelangelo, 500192, Roma (the branch near Vatican museum)

http://gelateriaoldbridge.com/home/en/

I felt more energetic after the gelato and took Metro A to Spagna to have a quick look at the shops before they closed.

Spanish Steps
Spanish Steps
Barcaccia - the sinking boat fountain
Barcaccia – the sinking boat fountain

Majority of the shops in the area are the top designer brands. Just to name a few, Armani, Bvlgari, Chanel, Louis Vuitton, Valentino, are all around the area. I would love to shop in this area if I won the lotto, so unfortunately I could only shop with my eyes. Lucky they have Sephora and some smaller shops in between so I didn’t have to leave empty handed.

I kept walking and reached Trevi Fountain after about 10mins walk. I knew the fountain is under restoration before coming here but I still want to pay a visit. The restoration began on 30 Jun, 2014 and it is expected to take about a year to complete. Would my wish still come true if I tossed a coin into this dry fountain? I have to visit again after the restoration completed.

2014-10-16 18.28.26

I bought a take-out pasta from Pastificio for dinner. It was nice and cheap. Perfect dinner for 1.

2014-10-16 19.15.38

Pastificio

Address: Via della Croce 8, Rome

http://www.yelp.com/biz/pastificio-roma

There is a supermarket called Despar near Pastificio which offers a wide range of groceries. A great spot to get some food for breakfast.

2014-10-16 19.32.09

Despar

Address: Via del Traforo 143, Rome

http://www.yelp.com/biz/despar-roma-4

I was exhausted from walking and just wanted to get some rest. Travelling solo has its upsides and is quite fun but I prefer to have someone to talk to and someone to listen to my jokes. More importantly, I missed having my boyfriend to take some nice photos of me with his new camera (he enjoys taking photo of landscape more than people though!) Anyways, I couldn’t wait to have my boyfriend joining me on day 3!

4 thoughts on “Day 2 in Rome – Vatican Museum, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain

Leave a Reply

