Day 18 in Milan – Sforzesco Castle, Sempione Park, Shopping

Day 18 – Sforzesco Castle > Sempione Park > more shopping

We began our day with the full breakfast buffet at our hotel and walked to the Milan Centrale station for some shopping. I went there mainly for the Sephora shop to get the Glamglow face mask set. It is a popular brand for Hollywood celebrities. I love the black exfoliate mud as it gives instant and visible results.

2014-11-01 21.47.59 resize

We took the metro to Cairoli station and walked to the Castle. It is a red brick castle and it is a museum now. Since we are not too interested in art, we took a few snaps and walked towards the park. We kept walking and took more photos of the Arco della Pace before we left for lunch.

Map Milan

DSC_1883 resize

DSC_1886 resize

We walked around after lunch and did some last minute shopping at the supermarket before Mr Map’s flight. He took the evening flight and got back to Hong Kong 2 days before me. Mr Map needed to get back to our hotel to pick up his luggage before taking the train to Malpensa airport. That implies 3 things – the beginning of ultimate shopping time, need to get data for google maps and dinner for 1 (which is a bit sad).

I started to look for restaurants for dinner after Mr Map left. I was very determine to find a good restaurant to make it up for the dinner we had last night. I picked a restaurant from the Michelin Bib Gourmand guide in Milan for dinner.

I went to La Cantina di Manuela for dinner. It is a cozy wine bar in a less touristy area. It is about 10mins walk from the subway Porta Venezia subway station. I was the only table for 1 and probably one of the very few tourists there. Most of them seems to be local. It is less enjoyable to have dinner by myself as I usually order different dishes with Mr Map and we will always share our food.

2014-11-01 20.01.30 resize

This porcini flan is really good

2014-11-01 20.15.14 resize

I ordered the specialty in Milan – risotto alla milanese. It is quite filling and I couldn’t finish all of it.

La Cantina di Manuela

Opening hours: Mon to Sat – 12:00-15:30 & 18:30-23:00; Sun – closed

Address: Via Carlo Poerio 3, Milan, Italy (not sure why it is different from the official website but this address was the one I went to)

Website: http://www.lacantinadimanuela.it/lacantinadimanuela/la-cantina-di-manuela-di-via-procaccini-41-milano/en/

I was scared to walk around in Milan at night by myself and just headed back to hotel after dinner.

Which restaurant is your favourite in Milan? If you enjoy reading my blog, feel free to follow me on twitter @MinionTravel to get the latest update.

Leave a Reply

