Day 19 in Milan – Via Monte Napoleane & Serravalle outlet shopping

Day 19 – Via Monte Napoleane > Serravalle Designer outlet > dinner

I have to admit that shopping without Mr Map makes me more comfortable. He is someone who has zero interest in shopping unless it is absolutely necessary. A few years ago, I took him to his first ever outlet shopping trip, and he spent most of his money on singlets, underwear, some sport clothing, and socks, and looked even happier than me with my two new pair of heels. Anyways I digress, now back to Italy. Like a lot of tourists, I had a list of things that I need to buy for friends. They are mainly the luxury designer brands with a significant price difference in Hong Kong.

Around Via Monte Napoleane, you can find all the high fashion brands such as Armani, Bottega Veneta, Bvlgari, Chanel, Louis VuittonPrada. There will be tax refund for spending over €155 on the same day at the same shop. You can easily spend over this amount in any of those high fashion stores!

2014-11-02 12.40.53 resize

Some shops I wanted to go were closed on Sunday and I had done most of the sightseeing in Milan. I had nothing else to do and decided to go to an outlet. There are several outlets near Milan such as Serravalle, Foxtown & Fidenza Village. I went to Serravalle outlet based on the brands I like and the shuttle bus schedule. These outlets are a lot bigger than The Mall in Florence. Click here for the brief description of the different outlets.

I took the afternoon bus to Serravalle Designer outlet and there is free wifi on the bus! I read about the map of the outlet during the journey and planned a route to visit the stores I like.

2014-11-02 15.13.28 resize

There are many high fashion brands in the outlet as well as some affordable brands. I didn’t buy much as I spent quite a bit in Florence already. However, it would be a nice stop to buy souvenirs for family and friends as there are some cosmetic/ skincare shops there. I would highly recommend to visit Bottega Verde if you visit. I bought a few of their olive oil lipsticks & hand cream and they are so good! It was interesting to know that there is a Damiani shop in the outlet. I never though there would be a high end jewelry store in an outlet! Knowing that I wouldn’t be able to afford anything inside the jewelry shop, I didn’t bother to go in and check the price. I was excited to find my favourite brand for heels, Stuart Weitzman, inside the outlet but I was disappointed to know the discount was not that big (in comparison with the price in the outlet in NY).

I only spent about 2 hours there and I would also be the only Asian with just the 1 small shopping bag on the shuttle bus back to Milan.

I went to Giulio Pane e Ojo for dinner based on Michelin Bib Gourmand guide (unfortunately, it is not under Bib Gourmand in 2015). The restaurant is quite close to Porto Romana metro station. As it is further away from the tourist area, most people there were Italian.

2014-11-02 20.49.42 resize

I like the cucumber but it was too much for 1 ppl.

2014-11-02 21.01.48 resize

This pasta is simple but tasty

2014-11-02 21.20.07 resize

The food was quite good and I had an enjoyable meal there.

Giulio Pane e Ojo

Address: Via Ludovico Muratori, 10, Milano, Italy

Website: http://www.giuliopaneojo.com/IT/

 If you enjoy reading my blog, feel free to follow me on twitter @MinionTravel to get the latest update.

Leave a Reply

