Day 20 in Milan – souvenir shopping

Day 20 – souvenir shopping before heading to airport

After my full breakfast at the hotel, I travelled to Duomo station and did some last minute shopping before I left. I went to the famous high end department store La Rinascente to buy some high quality souvenirs.

There is a nice outdoor restaurant on the top floor of La Rinascente with nice views of the Duomo.

2014-11-03 10.11.55 resize

2014-11-03 10.12.29 resize

2014-11-03 10.12.42 resize

I was looking for the Amedei chocolate on the top floor and got distracted by all those fancy chocolates. I never knew Roberto Cavalli made chocolate as well?! Seriously, who would eat that high heel shaped chocolate?!

Besides chocolate, there are a lot of high quality food products on the top floor for sale (something similar to Dean & DeLuca). I was thinking about buying some truffle pasta or premium olive oil to take back home but was afraid I would break them during the flight back, and also I was already close to my weight limit. I still regret for not buying them as I enjoy cooking.

There is a famous gelato joint called Le Tre Gazzelle in Milan that I need to try before leaving. It is located on Corso Vittorio Emanuele II and it is close to La Rinascente. This is the perfect stop after shopping. Besides gelato, people also come here for coffee. Reviews about their food is not that great though.

2014-11-03 13.10.12 resize

2014-11-03 13.15.21 resize

I was quite happy to get my gelato fix on my last day in Milan.

Le Tre Gazzelle

Opening hours: 07:00-00:00

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele II 22, Milan, Italy

Website: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g187849-d1891661-Reviews-Pasticceria_Bar_Le_Tre_Gazzelle-Milan_Lombardy.html

I went to Unes supermarket for more souvenir shopping before heading to the airport. It is located near Porta Venezia metro station. It has more interesting stuff to buy than the big Carrefour supermarket we went to.

Here are some of the souvenirs I bought from the Unes.

1. Baci chocolate (similar to Ferrero Rocher)

2. Pocket Coffee

3. Amdei chocolate bar (much cheaper than La Rinascente)

4. Some ready made pasta packs

5. Travel size Marvis toothpaste (A premium toothpaste brand in Italy, some luxury hotel use Marvis toothpaste instead of colgate. The price is less than €2 per tube whilst some pharmacies are selling it for €5)

Another popular souvenir is the Lavazza coffee powder but I didn’t get it as I am not a big coffee drinker.

2014-11-03 14.37.55 resize

Unes Supermercati

Address: Via Lazzaro Spallanzani, 10, 20056 Milano, Italy

Website: http://en.yelp.com.hk/biz/unes-maxi-milano-6

Tax refund in Malpensa airport, Milan

Usually there are a lot of tourists at the tax refund counter, and so I’d definitely recommend going to the airport as early as possible. The tax can be refunded to your credit card or by cash. It would take longer for it to be refunded to your credit card. I chose to get cash as it might be easier for me to calculate the cost for the things I helped my friends to buy. There would be a handling fee for every single receipt that you need to get refunded (I think I was charged €5 per receipt) and so It would be better if you buy several items in the same shop and get a tax refund on the same receipt to save money. There are different companies for tax refund such as Global Blue & Premier tax free. Different shops use different refund companies and you will have to line up at the respective refund counter at the airport. It is better to group the receipts of the same tax refund company in advance to save time.

Click here for the tax refund counter location at the Malpensa airport.

It was about time for me to leave Italy as my suitcase was fully occupied and my wallet was empty. I visited some European cities such as Amsterdam, Brussels, Barcelona, London, Paris and I think Italy is really fascinating. My favourite part of Italy would be Cinque Terre & Florence. I hope I can visit Italy again soon. Ideally somewhere on the Amalfi coast, Bologna, Sardinia & Sicily?

What is your favourite part in Italy? If you enjoy reading my blog, feel free to follow me on twitter @MinionTravel to get the latest update.

Leave a Reply

