Hotel review in Shanghai, China – New World Shanghai Hotel

New World Shanghai Hotel 上海巴黎春天新世界酒店

I had been looking at the hotels in Shanghai for my weekend stay, and the list seemed endless. Like all the research I did for all my trips, I always look at the tripadvisor ranking and read the reviews before booking hotel. I found New World Shanghai Hotel has the lowest room rate in the top 20 ranking. I looked at the location and found it very convenient. I was debating whether I should pay a bit more to stay at Hotel Indigo Shanghai On the Bund that overlooks the bund but a bit further away from the metro. Considering the rainy weather in Shanghai forecast and given the difficulty of getting a taxi during the rain, I chose New World Shanghai Hotel instead of Hotel Indigo.

Room rate

I was paying approximately US$100 per night for the Superior City View room without breakfast. It is really good value for money considering the location and the degree of comfort in the room.

The Location

It is located right next to the Zhongshan Park Metro Station (line 2 lime green line). There are restaurants, a shopping mall and shops near the hotel. There is a big shopping mall called Cloud Nine which is 10mins walk from hotel. It is 2 stations away from Jing’an Temple where you will find a lot of restaurants and young expats living there. I found the district is a lot more interesting that the Putuo district where Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel is located.

Shanghai map 2

For details, please click here for the Shanghai Metro Map.

IMG_6995 resize

The Room

The room is a lot smaller than my room in Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel but it is quite cozy. Room size is 30 sq. meter for the superior room I booked.

2015-07-10 17.51.43 resize

2015-07-10 17.51.38 resize

2015-07-10 17.51.20 resize

2015-07-10 17.49.23 resize

2015-07-10 17.49.39 resize

All bathroom amenities are provided. I have to say the conditioner quality is not good and I ended up getting the travel size shampoo and conditioner. Other than that I was quite happy with the room.

Facilities

There is an outdoor swimming pool located on the 15/F open from May to October from 08:00 to 21:00. It was a pity that there was a mega typhoon just starting to hit Shanghai during our visit. For some reason I have a slight fear of being struck by lightning strike whilst swimming, so I did not use the pool during our stay.  The Fitness Center is open daily from 06:30 to 23:00. Again, we didn’t use the gym during our stay.

Overall

We had a pleasant stay there and I really enjoy being close to restaurants, shops and the shopping mall. The hotel decoration is modern and it looks clean. I would be likely to stay in the hotel again when I visit Shanghai and will recommend it to friends and family who want to stay in a nice hotel with around US$100 per night as the accommodation budget.

New World Shanghai Hotel

Address: 1555 Dingxi Road, Changning District, Shanghai, China

Features: convenient location, good value for money, close to metro station, free wifi, with outdoor swimming pool & 24-hr fitness center

Ranking: #18 of 4000 hotels in Shanghai from tripadvisor.com

Website: http://shanghai.newworldhotels.com/en/

One thought on “Hotel review in Shanghai, China – New World Shanghai Hotel

Leave a Reply

