Hotel review in London, UK – Bloomsbury Hotel

Bloomsbury Hotel

I spent another weekend in London after spending most of the working week in a small town which was around a 45mins train ride from Euston station. Since I knew the train would get into London via Euston railway station, I chose a hotel closer to Euston than Paddington. It was a last minute booking as I was indecisive and kept comparing different hotels at different booking sites for the best deal. Eventually, I booked the hotel 2 weeks prior to my arrival. There weren’t a lot of choices available within my budget as well as being located within a convenient area.

Room rate

It costs me about US$280 per night for their standard room without breakfast. It is a bit more pricey than Park Grand London Lancaster Gate but I think the overall experience was better. I guess this is what makes the price difference.

The location

It is less than 5mins walk from the Tottenham Court tube station and Oxford street (where you can shop till you drop) with British Museum at your doorstep. The hotel is located in a quiet street surrounded by a vibrant neighbourhood. I love this area very much as it is very convenient and it’s close to shops (the Primark on Oxford street is within 5 mins walk).

London Map 2

For details, please click here for the London tube map.

IMG_7715 resize

IMG_7716 resize

The hotel lobby is classy.

The Room

The room is slightly bigger than our room at Park Grand London Lancaster Gate. It is 16 sq meter and the decor is very cozy. The room layout allows you to have the space to do some work on the desk.

IMG_7484 resize

IMG_7485 resize

I like the marble wall as it shows they use good materials for the room decor, giving it a very modern yet classic feel.

IMG_7486 resize

My favourite part – hotel toiletries! I am quite picky about the hotel toiletries and was very excited when I saw Aromatherapy Associates, a high end brand that you can find in some upscale day spa and high end resort! This  definintely gives some extra points to Bloomsbury!

IMG_7487 resize

I don’t think we had the time to make ourselves a nice coffee during our stay with the trendy nespresso machine but I like to have it in the room. Again, its these added extras which makes your trip just a little bit more pleasant and you feel like it is definitely worth the money you’ve paid for the room.

IMG_7488 resize

Although we don’t have the welcome fruit plate at Bloomsbury, Mr Map enjoy having his complimentary chocolates.

I would highly recommend for anyone who has a bit higher budget per night for the hotel to stay there. It is not cheap but it is definitely worthwhile. I found the tripadvisor ranking didn’t reflect the value for money of this hotel.

The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 – 22 Great Russell StreetLondon WC1B 3NN, England

Features: convenient location, close to tube station, free wifi, good quality room amenities, vibrant neighbourhood

Ranking: #59 of 1062 hotels in London from tripadvisor.com

Website: https://www.doylecollection.com/hotels/the-bloomsbury-hotel

One thought on “Hotel review in London, UK – Bloomsbury Hotel

Leave a Reply

