Day 4 in London – Graffiti Tunnel, River Thames walk, Covent Garden

Day 4 – Back to London > Check in to hotel > Graffiti at Leake Street Tunnel > Walk along River Thames > Dinner at Covent Garden

I took the train back to Euston after my work trip from a town (some might say suburb) out of London and immediately dropped my bags at the Bloomsbery Hotel.

2015-09-04 18.24 resize

It was still early and I wasn’t hungry yet, so we took a walk before heading out to dinner. I have to admit, for some unknown reason I do admire graffiti a lot (only when it’s done well) and maybe because we don’t see it around Hong Kong. Mr Map took me to this cool tunnel on Leake Street to take some quick snaps. It is also known as the Banksy tunnel after the Can Festival organized by Banksy.

IMG_7492 resize

IMG_7496 resize

IMG_7497 resize

The more quirkier it is, the more I love it, I find it really artistics, as they are quite creative.

Leake Street Banksy tunnel

Getting there: get off at Waterloo station and walk over

We walked over the bridge to cross the other side of River Thames and saw Big Ben. The night view of London is great but I have to admit, to me the most stunning night view is still the view of Hong Kong harbour view, whether from the Star Ferry or the Peak.

DSC_4456 resize

IMG_7513 resize

Unfortunately, we just missed the last ride on the London Eye.

We took the tube to Covent Garden for dinner after the walk. It is a popular area for shopping, restaurants & bars for both Londoners and visitors.

IMG_7525 resize

I found an Italian restaurant called Polpo on Maiden Lane for dinner. It has received the Micheline Bib Gourmand for 6 consecutive years, so I was pretty excited when I found that we didn’t have to book. It was almost 9pm when we got there though we still had to wait for a table, I guess part of European culture is to eat a lot later than I’m used to back home.

IMG_7528 resize

We ordered the tapas recommended by the waitress. We had the arancini, zucchini salad, chicken cotoletta, flank steak. They all tasted fantastic, and it was definitely a restaurant I’d recommend.

IMG_7533 resize

The mushroom risotto was my favourite dish of the night.

Polpo (Covent Garden branch)

Opening hours: Mon to Sat 11:30-23:30, Sun & Bank Holidays 11:30-22:30

Address: 6 Maiden Lane, London (close to Covent Garden tube station)

Official Website: http://www.polpo.co.uk

What’s your favourite restaurant in London? If you enjoy reading my blog, feel free to follow me on twitter @MinionTravel to get the latest update.

One thought on “Day 4 in London – Graffiti Tunnel, River Thames walk, Covent Garden

Leave a Reply

