Day 6 in London – Shoreditch, Brick Lane Market, Oxford Street

Day 6 – Shoreditch > Brick Lane Market > Oxford Street

With Mr Map flying back home, my solo day in London started with a guilty pleasure for breakfast. I’m always intrigued by small differences in McDonald’s menus from country to country, and so decided to fill myself up with another breakfast wrap! Since it was Sunday, it was the perfect time to check out Brick Lane Market in East London.

IMG_7628 resize IMG_7629 resize

I took the tube to Shoreditch High Street station. It is one of the most distinctive areas and trendiest neighbourhoods in London.

As soon as I stepped out of the station, I could already feel a different vibe to the area. I walked along Bethnal Green Road and ended up in the Sclater Street market. There was a lot of junk (maybe someone else’s treasure) at the market none of which I found too appealing.

IMG_7632 resize

IMG_7634 resize

IMG_7666 resize

I kept walking and eventually got to Brick Lane Market. This is where you will find all the cool graffiti and the food stalls.

Here is a map of the market

Brick Lane Market Map

http://www.sundayupmarket.co.uk/map.html

IMG_7635 resize

IMG_7636 resize

IMG_7637 resize

IMG_7639 resize

Backyard Market (the green part from the map)

IMG_7640 resize

IMG_7641 resize

Big Chill bar & restaurant on Dray Walk

IMG_7645 resize

I didn’t get a closer photo of Banksy’s pink car, which is apparently pretty famous. It is protected by a glass box. I didn’t even know the pink car is well known until I did some research on the internet when I was writing this blog entry.

The pink dot above Banksy’s pink car is the Crunchy the Credit Crunch Monster by Ronzo, a famous London based artist.

You can find a better photo of both the Banksy’s car and the Credit Crunch Monster here from europeupclose.com

Below is the area around Dray Walk.

IMG_7642 resize

IMG_7643 resize

IMG_7646 resize

IMG_7647 resize

I found these signs near the Sparks clothing store (near intersection of Dray Walk & Hanbury Street) quite interesting, a little bit different from conventional road signs.

IMG_7650 resize

On Princelet Street (near intersection of Princelet Street and Wilkes Street), you will find A Couple Hold Hands in the Street by famous London based graffiti artist Stik.

IMG_7649 resize

Right next to Stik’s graffiti, there is graffiti from Otto Schade. He is a Chilean artist and architect based in London. You can find more information about his work in Shoreditch here.

IMG_7652 resize

Another famous graffiti by Roa, an artist from Belgium who is famous for his realistic animal graffiti.

IMG_7654 resize

Collaboration of Alexis Diaz & Elian. You can find more information about this piece of work from here.

IMG_7655 resize

IMG_7658 resize

IMG_7660 resize

More food stalls at the Brick Lane Market

IMG_7663 resize

2015-09-06 12.37.51 resize

I walked to the other side of Shoreditch area after Brick Lane and passed by the Boxpark. It is London’s pop up mall made with shipping containers.

IMG_7669 resize IMG_7673 resize

IMG_7670 resize

IMG_7677 resize

Another graffiti from Roa – a giant hedgehog. This can be found near Chance Street and Bethnal Green.

IMG_7682 resize

IMG_7694 resize

This is another famous Shoreditch landmark by Steve Powers. This can be found near Holywell Lane and Great Eastern Street.

Right opposite to this famous landmark, there is a place called Dinerama where you can find a lot of street food.

IMG_7693 resize

IMG_7691 resize

IMG_7690 resize

IMG_7711 resize

Another great piece of work by Gary MSK & Lilly Lou.

After my long walk around the Shoreditch area, I stopped by a cool cafe called Cereal Killer in Brick Lane for light snacks. It has over 120 different types of cereal, 30 different choices of milk and 20 different toppings.

IMG_7702 resize

IMG_7703 resize IMG_7706 resize

I was fascinated by the choice of cereal in the cafe. I’m not a big fan of cereal but this is definintely somewhere worth visiting. Who would ever think of opening a cafe with all types of cereal?

IMG_7705 resize

2015-09-06 13.32.04 resize 2015-09-06 13.31.45 resize

In the end, I just ordered a regular granola with banana and milk. I prefer to stick with the simple choice, I know a little bit boring, but I’m not too eager to pump my stomach full of sugar.

Cereal Killer
Opening hours: Mon to Sun 08:00-20:00
Address: 139 Brick Lane, London
Official Website: http://www.polpo.co.uk
Shopping in London
I was done with my sight seeing for this trip and it’s time to do some crazy shopping while Mr Map is not around! I took the underground back to Oxford street (my favourite shopping area in London). Below are some of my favourite shops in London.
Primark (clothing & accessories)
Similiar to H&M and forever 21, Primark is a fast fashion store that sells quite affordable items. It is a must to pay a visit to their biggest store on Oxford Street with 4 floors. You will definintely find something here.
Opening hours: Mon to Fri 08:00-22:00; Sat 08:00-21:00; Sun 12:00-18:00
Address: 14 – 28 Oxford Street & 3 Tottenham Court Road, London
Dune London (shoes)
This is my favourite shoe shop in UK, as we don’t have this store in HK. Their shoes are designed nicely and are quite affordable. I found some of the designs are not very comfortable (I’m ok with fashion over function). You can possibly find some nice heels for work or some evening heels and something casual. I bought a pair of flats & high heels this time. You can find Dune shoes everywhere in UK but they aren’t available in the more popular European countries (European branches can be found in Switzerland, Latvia & Estonia).
Opening hours: Mon to Wed & Sat 10:00-19:30; Thu & Fri 10:00-20:00; Sun 11:30-18:30
Address: Oxford Circus branch – 28 Argyll Street, London
Ann Summers (lingerie & sex toys)
The Ann Summers lingerie have a lot of different designs, some are more functional for daily wear while some are more sexy and further up the richter scale. You can also find sex toys and some other naughty stuff in there. I like the gift section where you can find a lot of different items suitable for a hens party. Mr Map would definitely like to spend more time in this store.
Opening hours: Mon to Sun 10:00-21:00; Bank holiday 12:00-19:00
Address: 104-106 Oxford Street, London
Other international big brands on Oxford street: Miss Selfridges, Topshop, New look and a big Marks & Spencer. You can find the full shopping directory on Oxford street here
I went to Burger & Lobster for dinner again before leaving London and went to Covent Garden trying to do some last minute shopping. Unfortunately, some shops were already closed.
The classic Cambridge Satchel is quite popular and you can get one with your initials embossed on it. If you are looking for a gift or something 100% made in Great Britain, this is the place to be.
The Cambridge Satchel Company
Opening hours: Mon to Fri 10:00-22:00; Sat 10:00-19:00; Sun 11:00-18:00
Address: 31 James Street, Covent Garden, London
Official Website: http://www.cambridgesatchel.com/en-gb/home
It was a quick trip to London and it has changed so much since the last time I was here (about 10 years ago!). There were many places which I didn’t have time to explore this time. I guess I’ll have to come back soon!
Have you been to Shoreditch, London? Which one is your favourite graffiti? If you enjoy reading my blog, feel free to follow me on twitter @MinionTravel to get the latest update.
One thought on “Day 6 in London – Shoreditch, Brick Lane Market, Oxford Street

  1. Wonderful blog. I have just spent the last two Monday evenings in Shoreditch taking pictures of the street art for my blog. There are some advantages to working in London two days a week.

Leave a Reply

